博物馆

如果连一座令人心仪的博物馆也没参观上,您的新加坡之行算不上完美——博物馆能让您从独特的角度解读这个多元城市国家的历史文化。更何况,这些博物馆所在的大楼座座都是建筑瑰宝。

 

艺术科学博物馆

在滨海湾金沙酒店的庇荫下,这座建筑临水而立,由建筑师Moshe Safdie以荷花为灵感设计而成。这座博物馆共有21个画廊区,既有常设展,也有大型国际巡展,专注于科学题材,与美国自然历史博物馆和史密森尼博物馆(Smithsonian Institute)联袂为观众带来视觉盛宴。

更多信息,详见:https://www.marinabaysands.com/museum.html

 

新加坡国家博物馆

新加坡国家博物馆始建于1887年,位于新加坡一处主要的标志性建筑内。这座古老的新古典主义风格建筑新增了玻璃、金属等现代元素(其中包括11米高的玻璃走廊和玻璃圆形大厅),是新加坡现代与传统相互融合的缩影。人们可以从这里了解这座迷人城邦从14世纪直至今天的历史变迁。博物馆一反常见的枯燥陈列方式,而是采用了各种沉浸式体验,引领观众超越时空,亲身体验古代马来王朝乃至战时被占领情景。

更多信息,详见:www.nationalmuseum.sg

 

国家美术馆

新加坡国家美术馆是近几年才落成的美术馆,这里公开陈列现代艺术作品的数量堪称新加坡乃至东南亚之最。美术馆位于市民区(Civic District)中心地段的一处古老建筑内。这座古老建筑可追溯到二十世纪初,新古典主义风格浓郁,曾是最高法院和市政厅的所在地。

更多信息,详见:https://www.nationalgallery.sg

 

亚洲文明博物馆

引人入胜亚洲文明博物馆领略多元文化的完美之选。正是这些多元文化造就了新加坡这个大熔炉。博物馆地理位置优越,位于新加坡河畔,旁边伫立着新加坡创立者莱佛士爵士的大理石像,据说他在1819年正是从这个地方登陆新加坡的。在这里,您可以一览新加坡200年历史。

更多信息,详见: www.acm.org.sg

 

新加坡美术馆

新加坡美术馆于1996年开馆,是新加坡第一家美术馆,本地人将其昵称为“SAM”。自开馆以来,美术馆收藏了大批东南亚当代艺术作品,而东南亚艺术也是世界艺术的重要组成部分。呈展方式不断变换,使用的媒介也各种各样,包括雕塑和各种装置。该馆也举办国际艺术家作品展、研讨会及其它活动。收藏品都陈列在一座19世纪教会学校内,该学校经精心改建,成为了今日的美术馆。

更多信息,详见:https://www.singaporeartmuseum.sg

Museums

No visit to Singapore would be complete without visiting at least one of the country’s fascinating museums. They offer a unique insight into the history and culture of this dynamic city-state. Furthermore, the buildings in which they are housed are often architectural gems in their own right.

 

ArtScience Museum

This breathtakingly dramatic building is set on the waterfront in the shadow of Marina Bay Sands. Its building was designed by Moshe Safdie and inspired by the lotus flower. It has up to 21 gallery spaces housing a mix of permanent exhibitions and major international touring exhibitions, exploring scientific themes, brought in through collaborations with organisations such as the American Museum of Natural History and the Smithsonian Institute.

For more information visit: https://www.marinabaysands.com/museum.html

 

National Museum of Singapore

Singapore’s National Museum dates back to 1887, and is housed within one of the city’s major architectural icons. The original neo-classical building has been enhanced by the addition of a modernist extension of glass and metal, including an 11-metre-high glass passage and glass rotunda, reflecting the juxtaposition of new and old within Singapore itself. This is the best place to learn all about the history of this fascinating city-state, leading from the 14th century to the present day. This is no dry and dusty museum – but encompasses a range of immerse experiences including an encounter with ancient Malay royalty and the experience of wartime occupation.

For more information visit: www.nationalmuseum.sg

 

National Gallery

The National Gallery of Singapore is the latest addition to the museum scene, housing the largest public collection of modern art in Singapore and Southeast Asia. Set at the heart of the Civic District, it is housed in historic buildings, dating back to the 1900s, which once served the city as Supreme Court and City Hall and are fine examples of the Neoclassical style.

For more information visit: https://www.nationalgallery.sg

 

Asian Civilisations Museum

The entrancing Asian Civilisations Museum is the perfect place to gain an understanding of the diverse cultures, which make up the melting pot, which is Singapore. It is aptly situated close to the marble statue of Singapore’s founder, Sir Stamford Raffles, at the place on the Singapore River where he is thought to have landed in 1819, and traces the city-states 200 year history.

To find out more visit: www.acm.org.sg

 

Singapore Art Museum

When the Singapore Art Museum – know affectionately by locals simply as SAM –opened in 1996, it was the city’s first art museum. Since then it has built up an impressive collection of Southeast Asian contemporary art, which is one of the most significant in the world. Its exhibits change constantly and feature a diverse range of media, from sculpture to installations. It also hosts international artists and runs workshops and other events. The collection is housed in an impressive building which was once a 19th century mission school, which has been meticulously restored.

To find out more visit: https://www.singaporeartmuseum.sg